Rookie Running Life

Healthy Recipes, Workouts, Random Musings

Review: Jillian Michaels’ Ripped in 30

Leave a comment

As I blogged about before, I’ve completed about 5 rounds of Beachbody’s 21 Day Fix workouts. I loved the workout program because it was only 30 minutes long and could easily be done at home – which is such a convenience during this past brutal New England winter. But after so many rounds of the same workouts, my body was simply getting too used to the routine. I needed to change it up, and couldn’t wait a few more weeks until the official release of 21 Day Fix Extreme.

So, one day, as I walked around Target and browsed the fitness section, I came across their workout DVD section. Jillian Michaels’ Ripped in 30 caught my eye – I mean, who doesn’t want to be jacked in just 30 days? And the best part of it was the DVD was only $10, so even if I dreaded it, at least it wasn’t too much of an initial investment.

As a disclaimer, this is only a review of Jillian Michaels’ Ripped in 30 workouts. I stuck to the 21 Day Fix nutrition plan since it has become my lifestyle and works for me.

The workout program is divided up into four weeks, with each week increasing in difficulty and intensity. The warm-ups and cool-downs last about 5 minutes combined, so you’re really only sweating it out for 25 minutes – but boy, are you sweating! Jillian has a crazy (but really effective) 3,2,1 set-up, where you’re completing 3 minutes of strength, followed by 2 minutes of cardio, and lastly, 1 minute of abs. During each week, you must complete 3 rounds of 3, 2, 1, which ultimately adds up to the 25 minutes or so that you’re actually working out.

I found week 1 to be tough, but definitely doable if you’re a beginner. I used 8 lb. weights throughout the entire program, since those are the only dumbbells I have on hand. It was just enough to feel the burn the next day! The workouts included squat lunges, shoulder press, single leg hops and skaters. I think 21 Day Fix prepared me well enough to handle the first week, which was a relief, but definitely the change my body was looking for. The same can be said for week 2.

Ironically, I think I struggled the most with week 3, especially when it came to the strength portions of the workout circuit. There were duck walks, bear crawls, stork stance with reverse fly, table top tricep dips AND downward dog push-ups. Not only were you using your dumbbells, but you were also using your body weight which was tough (but felt great afterwards).

Some moves, and a sweaty selfie, of week 3

Some moves, and a sweaty selfie, of week 3

I’m a firm believer that if you can make it through week 3, you can definitely do week 4. It’s intense, yes, but you are SO CLOSE to being done and completing the goal you set out on. Lots of push-ups, plank moguls, and burpees (YIKES) to get through, but your body should ideally be stronger by week 4. The workouts don’t get easier, you just get stronger!

Squated shoulder lifts, and a little flex action, from week 4

Squated shoulder lifts, and a little flex action, from week 4

I was looking to tone my body through this program, and I did just that. I’m at my goal weight already, and managed to stay there, but I lost 2.5 total inches off of my body and definitely toned my stomach area some more.

photo

Overall, I highly recommend this DVD program – it’s a great workout at a terrific value. It’s always good to switch up your workout routine when your body just isn’t feeling the burn, so for $10 and from the luxury of your own home, Jillian Michaels lets us get Ripped in 30!

Leave a comment